Legislative power in the State lies with the Borno State House of Assembly composed of elected Constituency Members and assisted by Support Staff. The Borno State House of Assembly has members who are elected for tenure of 4 years to represent the various State constituencies.

The State House of Assembly has;

  • The Speaker

  • The House Leader

  • The Chief Whip and;

  • The House Committee Chairman as key officers.

The Legislature has oversight function over the Executive arm, and the Local Government Councils (LGCs) of the State.

The House is chaired by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. At any joint session of the Assembly, the President of the Senate presides and in his absence the Speaker of the House presides.